Dynamics of Political Institutions in Asia

June 23–29, 2019 – Penang, Malaysia

Institutional Poaching & Parallel Governance Along the Mekong: From Flying Geese to Belt & Road

The inaugural APSA Asia Workshop was held in partnership with the Universiti Sains Malaysia in Penang in June 2019. Co-leading the program were William Hurst (Northwestern University, USA), Soo Yeon Kim (National University of Singapore), Benny Teh Cheng Guan (Universiti Sains Malaysia), and Meredith Weiss (State University of New York at Albany, USA). Twenty-one PhD students and early-career scholars attended as fellows, representing universities across East and Southeast Asia, Europe, the United States, and Australia.

Across the 7-day program (see schedule), attendees explored dynamics of domestic and regional political institutions with particular attention to cases and applications across Asia. Drawing upon a syllabus of core readings (see readings), attendees discussed theories of political institutions and different approaches to analyzing implications of these theories for political representation, interest intermediation, governance, political liberalization, and regional integration. Fellows also shared their own related research for review and feedback. The program included professional development sessions on publishing, policy-oriented research, networking, and the various challenges faced by early-career researchers. Of course, attendees also made time to visit downtown Georgetown, Penang Hill, and Kek Lok Si temple!

Attending the workshop were:

  • Rabi’ah Aminudin – International Islamic University, Malaysia
  • Nicholas Chan – University of Cambridge, UK
  • Brendan Clift – University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Dimitar Gueorguiev – Syracuse University, USA
  • Seokdong Kim – Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea
  • Dwi Kiswanto – University of London-SOAS, UK
  • Yukiko Taniguchi – Waseda University, Japan
  • Christina Lai – Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Jung Hoon Park – National University of Singapore
  • Michelle Phillips – University of California-Berkeley, USA
  • Akarawin Sasanapitak – Mahidol University, Thailand
  • Sam Seun – Royal Academy of Cambodia
  • Jingjing Song – Fudan University, China
  • Pon Souvannaseng – University of Manchester, UK
  • Anna Suwardi – Mae Fah Luang University, Thailand
  • Jay Tarriela – National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Japan
  • Van Tran – Cornell University, USA
  • Pui Yi Wong – University of Malaya, Malaysia
  • Shirley Yang – Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China
  • Tricia Yeoh – University of Nottingham, Malaysia
  • Zhouyang Zhao – Peking University, China

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *